City HallThe City of Johnstown is headed by the mayor who serves as the City’s chief executive and the council who serve as the city’s legislative body. In the City of Johnstown, the Common Council is made up of the a Council Member-at-large and four Council Members of the city, one from each ward. The Mayor and the Council Member-at-large are elected by qualified electors of the City while the Council Members are elected by qualified electors of the respective wards. All members of the Common Council serve for four years.

For more information on the governmental organization and operation of the City of Johnstown, feel free to check out our City Charter & Code of Ordinances.

The City of Johnstown welcomes citizen participation through the establishment of various boards and committees. This system is one of the most effective ways for citizens to influence city policies and activities. Click Here to find out more about boards & committees or to view vacancies.

The City of Johnstown is located in Fulton County, New York.